Two South Carolina College of Pharmacy (SCCP) students have been honored with the RESPy award, a national honor presented by Pharmacy Times and Walmart to fewer than a dozen students each year.

Destine Hoover on the SCCP’s Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) campus and Dominique Dormeville on the SCCP’s University of South Carolina (USC) campus  were both recently named 2016 RESPy winners.

Established in 2006, the RESPy (respect, excellence, and service in pharmacy) Award is given to a pharmacy student who has made a difference in his or her community by demonstrating excellence in pharmaceutical care. Some criteria on which the pharmacy student is selected for this honor include:

  • Demonstration of voluntary public service activities
  • Demonstration of a high level of professional/public health-related activities outside the classroom
  • Demonstration of a high level of effort to advance the profession of pharmacy in the public arena

Hoover and Dormeville follow in a long line of SCCP students accorded this honor. Brianne Dunn (November 2007), Dachelle Johnson (January 2009), Erin Boles (January 2011), Liz O'Hare (February 2012), and Angela Kao (2015) have all won the award.

Winners of the RESPy Awards receive a full page feature article in Pharmacy Times, $1,000 scholarship paid by Walmart to their school, a hand-crafted mortar and pestle, and an invitation to the Walmart pharmacy intern program.