Pharmacy leadership society Phi Lambda Sigma (PLS) recently presented Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) faculty member John Bosso with the 2016 PLS-Procter & Gamble National Leadership Award  in recognition of a long and distinguished career.

Bosso, professor of clinical pharmacy and outcomes sciences at MUSC since 1992, is a well-known expert in infectious disease and has provided leadership in pharmacy research and education nationally and internationally as well as to MUSC and in the state of South Carolina.

“John Bosso has been one of the pillars of pharmacy education at MUSC for nearly 25 years,” said Philip D. Hall, dean of the MUSC campus of the South Carolina College of Pharmacy (SCCP). “He’s been a critical resource as a scientist, teacher and administrator and an important contributor to our reputation in the pharmacy community.”

Bosso was presented with the award at the PLS Awards Ceremony in Baltimore on March 5, during the American Pharmacists Association Annual Meeting.

The Phi Lambda Sigma-Procter & Gamble National Leadership Award is given to one individual a year who has exemplified leadership qualities in support of the pharmacy profession. MUSC pharmacy faculty members Jean Nappi (2004) and Wayne Weart (2012) have also won the prestigious award.

After earning his bachelor’s and doctor of pharmacy degrees from the State University of New York at Buffalo, Bosso spent 16 years as a clinical pharmacy (pediatrics) faculty member at the University of Utah where he became a full professor. In 1989, he assumed a vice chair of pharmacy practice position as professor of pharmacy at the University of Houston College of Pharmacy and Baylor College of Medicine. He was recruited to MUSC in 1992.

At MUSC, he served as head of the Division of Clinical Pharmacy Sciences in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences and then chair of the Department of Pharmacy and Clinical Sciences from 2003-7. When the SCCP was formed between the colleges of pharmacy at MUSC and the University of South Carolina (USC), Bosso was appointed chair of the SCCP Clinical Pharmacy and Outcomes Sciences (CPOS) department which included campuses at MUSC, USC and Greenville Health System, serving from 2007-13.

Bosso’s work has created an international reputation, particularly in his research on infectious diseases in both pediatric and adult patients as well as the nature of the relationship between antibiotic use and  resistance development.  National pharmacy associations have turned to him often as a leader for the profession and lauded him for his service.

For the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), he has served on many committees and was chair of the Council of Faculties, the Section of Teachers of Pharmacy Practice, and the Faculty Practice Model Task Force; he is a past president of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) and has served as chair of the ACCP Infectious Diseases Practice & Research Network, Research Institute Board of Trustees and a member of the ACCP Blue Ribbon Task Force on Pharmacometrics; he was a founding member and served as president of Making a Difference in Infectious Diseases; and he served as president of the Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists. In addition to serving on a number of editorial boards, he was editor of The Journal of Infectious Disease Pharmacotherapy from 1993-9.

His national recognitions include such honors as Distinguished Practitioner, National Academies of Practice; Fellow, Infectious Diseases Society of America; Merck Pharmacist Achievement Award; Fellow, American College of Clinical Pharmacy; and he has regularly been honored throughout his career with university and college awards for his teaching, practice and scholarship. 

Author of more than 130 articles in refereed journals as well as textbook contributor, Bosso has often been sought as a speaker at national and international conferences; in the past three years alone he has given invited presentations in Wisconsin, Maine, Jacksonville, Dubai, Texas, Saudi Arabia, Orlando and San Francisco.