Columbia Campus

Home to the USC Gamecocks, the University of South Carolina is a comprehensive institution with more than 200 years of history and tradition, rising from a single building in 1805 (The South Carolina College) on what would become the heart of the campus, the Historic Horseshoe.

Through the dynamic Innovista Project, the University is expanding west toward the Congaree River in support of its research initiatives in nanotechnology, health sciences, Future Fuels™, the environment,and information and knowledge technologies. The University of South Carolina offers more than 350 degree programs through its 14 degree-granting colleges and schools. 

The USC College of Pharmacy was established in 1865, and thousands of loyal alumni have achieved national and international prominence. Our graduates’ own and operate independent pharmacies, work with national chain drug stores, provide pharmacy expertise in hospitals, clinics and other facilities, and serve as researchers and teachers throughout the country.

Today, the SCCP, USC campus, boasts a student body composed of about 440 students in the Pharm.D. program and more than 400 in the pre-pharmacy program. In addition, students may pursue a Ph.D. program in Pharmaceutical Sciences (Pharmaceutics, Pharmacology, Medicinal Chemistry) and Pharmaceutical Health Outcomes Sciences, and a Masters Degree in Pharmacy.



Charleston Campus

Founded in 1824, the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC), known then as the Medical College of South Carolina, is the oldest medical institution in the Southern United States. As originally established, the school consisted of just one college, the College of Medicine.

Since then, the Medical University has matured and expanded, responding to the continually changing needs of health education, patient care and scientific research. Today, MUSC is a state-assisted institution consisting of six colleges, a 596-bed medical center and several centers of clinical excellence. MUSC is the state’s largest source of healthcare professionals with more than 13,000 graduates practicing, teaching, and/or performing research throughout South Carolina.

In 1881, the Medical College created a department of pharmacy. The School of Pharmacy was organized in 1882, discontinued after two years, then resumed on a permanent basis in 1894. The school offered the degree of graduate in pharmacy (Ph.G.). This program established the foundation for developing a program for the degree of bachelor of science in pharmacy that began in 1936. The doctor of pharmacy degree program began in 1973 and a Ph.D. program in pharmaceutical sciences was initiated in 1982 (the latter administered through the MUSC College of Graduate Studies in collaboration with the University of South Carolina). 

Today, the MUSC campus boasts a student body composed of 319 students in the Pharm.D. program. Students may pursue a Pharm.D./Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Sciences or Outcomes Research or a Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Sciences. The college is the 18th pharmacy school in the nation to offer the dual Pharm.D./MBA degree. In addition, the MUSC Medical Center and College of Pharmacy Residency Program offers one of the largest and most respected pharmacy residency programs in the country with twelve specialty tracks and typically twenty residents.